Fall Is Here

Fall is here, it’s a little chili, and I’m indoors, so one of those days when you’re trying to make something happen. It’s interesting because, amid a pandemic related to being retired, my days are at a halt anyway. I was already working remotely as a writer; that’s an idea. Especially liken to myself being in an ongoing contemplative mode.

I am always pondering the state of affairs; the key is to capture those moments on paper because once I start, it’s off to the races. Everything takes on a life of its own, and that’s when the creative juices began to flow. Writing for me is an outlet, as well as an inlet. For not only am I in the spirit but experiencing an inspired moment.

It’s time to be constructively engaged in an activity instead of being stifled. In all actuality, as a writer, the key is to initiate a task, and the next thing you know, you chisel away, and the masterpiece appears. When I wrote my book, it was a compilation of material related to daily dynamics and life experiences.

A writer can always create a pathway for themselves, liken to the adage that a thousand-mile journey begins with that single step in that direction. For me, my interest in topics related to themes of inspiration and transformation. A timely matter is reflective of the volatile times that we are experiencing.

If there was ever a need to be inspired and transformed, now is the time. Amid the storm, one needs to know that we still have a chance despite the enormity of the demands that we are addressing. It’s so easy to feel overwhelmed and disconnected, considering the mountainous variables that we are all experiencing.

Even before the onset of the covic pandemic and the social pandemic related to race relations with the commander and chief promoting divisiveness, there was already a sense of uneasiness. Even with myself, I felt the need to shift gears and go forward with something new and different; retirement had been looming in the background for me for years. So when an opportunity presented itself, I jumped on it.

Now that I’m retired, I have a lot of time on my hands, and the most important thing is how I use my time and resources/resourcefulness. In my case, with a family, others can see me at their disposal as well. I like spending time with my family, but I did have plans to spend my time developing and promoting the new and improved Calvin. Or shall we say the transformed and renewed Calvin.

The latter is most befitting, yes I have a book out, but the key is to attend to and promote my book and the initiative associated with it. An essential component of the book was to use it as a platform to encourage community activism, manifesting itself in the role that I am engaged in as a member in my new found church home. Amazingly, the Lord saw fit that I find an opportunity right close to where I live, which has twofold benefits to be active in my church and community at the same time.   

Yes, fall is here, and now is the opportune time to advantage of it and expressing the more excellent vision of ourselves that’s been yearning to aspiring itself through you and for you. With the emerging cold and semi-hibernation mode, the blahs related to less sunlight about less sunlight and being indoors. On the contrary, this is the opportune time to make full use of your skills and imagination to transform your life.

The most important ingredient that we have is the creative use of our time. Instead of feeling stifled by your circumstances, embrace your challenges instead of being challenged by them; this can be an ideal time to engage in conflict resolution. You are mindful that the problem and the solution reflect the mindset that you employ. It’s a mind thing, and one must be aware of the thoughts you engage in because thoughts are things, and words do materialize.

Leave a comment